I’m safe.

The best thing to say to yourself, I’ve learned, is not I love myself and not I am beautiful. The best thing to say to yourself is ‘I’m safe.’. 

Even if it’s a lie, pretend like it’s the truth. When I was in Bangkok, Thailand on my own when there were protests and bombings and threats I didn’t feel safe at all. I would sit with people and friends and talk but inside I was literally thinking “we are going to get bombed”. And I realized that when I don’t feel safe I am my most agitated, anxious, insincere self. Mostly because I’m so focused on fear of what might happen. Fear is the number one happiness killer so focus on feeling safe and convince yourself of this and happiness will follow! (Or at least you will feel more at ease no matter the circumstance)

2 comments


Leave a Reply

