8 Ways to Live a Little Happier

1. Remove Conditions

No more “When I…Then I’ll be happy”. Be happy in this moment, this moment is your life. Conditions distract us from even noticing the present moment.

2. Lower Expectations

The best things in life are always unexpected.  When you have high and unrealistic expectations you are likely to get disappointed but when you have low expectations you are setting yourself up to be pleasantly surprised.

3. Be Authentic

As Brene Brown said, ““We cultivate love when we allow our most vulnerable and powerful selves to be deeply seen and known…” Oh how much I struggle with being seen and known. I don’t want anyone to see me or know me yet that is my biggest desire. It’s a contradiction that I struggle with and have struggled with for so long. Being authentic is not easy. Being vulnerable is not easy. But those who do allow themselves to be seen and known are part of the happier group of people.

4. Mindfulness

60,000. You have 60,000 thoughts a day. Most of them just come at you and you have no control. But being mindful of these thoughts and starting to control them and shape them to be positive and meaningful thoughts for you is so important. Make sure you are taking control of your mind and speaking truth to yourself and situations and not lies. Be mindful, be aware and take each moment as it is.

5. Don’t Take It Personally

If you do, you will drive yourself crazy and for no good reason at all. I am a very sensitive person, really. Small comments that mean nothing are extremely hurtful and I dwell on them for days. I get my feelings hurt quite often. And that’s no way to live! Even if people are trying to be hurtful, who cares. Deeprak Chopra said, “What people think of me, is none of my business.” I love that. I say that to myself often.

6. Love You

Oh how important is this one…Life is too short to spend another day at war with yourself. It just is. Stop scaring yourself, stop making small things monsters, and be there for yourself.  However long you live is however long you have to spend with you so become friends.

7. Get Over Yourself

You’ve got to realize that all our past mistakes and imperfections and whatever we think is unlovable is not important. Get over it, get over all your worries. You’re not the only one living in this world. Focus on someone or something else besides you and you’re bound to get happier.
“When you’re unhappy, you get to pay a lot of attention to yourself. And you get to take yourself oh so very seriously. Your truly happy people, which is to say, your people who truly like themselves, they don’t think about themselves very much.”
-Tom Robbins

8. Celebrate Little Accomplishments

The littlest ones! As we get older, we congratulate each other less often. But it’s so fun to do. I love little wins of adulthood, you know what I mean. You remembered to buy extra toilet paper, you checked into your flight online and skipped the line, you always have milk in the fridge. CONGRATULATIONS! Haha make life like that. Celebrating little wins and being secretly happy over the small things.

Leave a Reply

