Make the Silver Lining

There are two things I really dislike doing in life. One is eating a cheeseburger that doesn’t fit my standards. The other is watching a movie that is a waste of time.

And before you stone me for saying this, the first time I saw Silver Linings Playbook after hearing so many great things about it, I was starting to feel that same anger I usually feel when I bite into an unsatisfactory cheeseburger after reading great reviews.

I didn’t think about the movie again until I was reading a poem that my mom gave me a Christmas a few years ago. This line caught my attention: “May your spirit never grow old, may all your clouds have silver linings.” Well I’m already an old soul so there’s that. Then I thought of Silver Linings Playbook. The first time I watched it I thought I could have watched Dancing with the Stars and had been satisfied. Upon further analysis, however, something clicked. Think about Bradley Cooper’s character, his cloud was massive. It was dark. Let’s take a look at his cloud: he was deemed insane by society, lost his job, lost his wife, felt like he let his parents down continuously, living at home. This is the moment you give up and throw in the towel. The silver lining though, was so great. We all need this in our lives. We, and I mean all of us when I say we…I mean all of humanity: I mean you, I mean me. We need this. We all need something to live for. We all need a goal. And you know what I’m talking about, the final moment of getting a 5 out of 10 and feeling as if you’ve flown to the moon. That moment in the sun. Our hands outstretched. We all crave it. Today I dare you, I challenge you to MAKE your own silver lining. If it’s entering a dance competition, if it’s going skydiving, if it’s asking someone out, if it’s joining some group.

For me, it’s signing up for a half marathon. It’s not until November but I know I’m going to create that silver lining in my own life on that day when I feel like I’ve accomplished it. So what’s yours?

One comment


Leave a Reply

