Connecting the Dots as a Baby Adult

“Again, you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something…” – JOBS

This speaks to me right now and my life – I feel stressed 98% of the time and I don’t even know why. Quarter life crisis is a very real thing, and so is I imagine mid-life crisis (I wrote half-life crisis at first before my parents corrected me). And I think part of the reason is that life can be frustratingly and painfully uncertain. Constantly changing, sometimes shaking you up. You may encounter situations that seem dreary, meaningless, or just plain annoying. Or, what if you do find yourself in what to you is a fail. Not even a fail but an EPIC fall on your face public FAILURE. What do you do then? This quote helps me in those situations.

When you connect the dots looking backward, the dots are usually low points. Points that you or the world count as fails. Points that you cringe because they weren’t part of your 5-year plan. Points where life shook you up a bit. Points where you wish you could just erase because it looks so weird and awkward on your resume. But the crucial point is, that if you believe in SOMETHING, and your general outlook is positive especially concerning the future outcome, then you can change those low points and view them instead as motivation for an upward change.  As I was writing this the Humans of New York guy and Ellen Youtube video showed up on my newsfeed. As I watched, it was exactly what I wanted to convey.

Humans of New York photoblogger only started this endeavor after being unemployed. He maybe wouldn’t have even started the website or project if he hadn’t had all that free time from being out of work. Ms. Lopez found recognition and global support only after having a ‘breakdown’ as an exhausted and burnt out educator.

The low points could just be a catalyst for those high points, so don’t get too down on yourself if you’re going through something like that. With the right attitude and trust, you don’t know what good will come out of those low points/dots.

Leave a Reply

