Okay with being misunderstood

People will say what they want to say.

When I was in college, the guy who I was dated at the time told me that his ex girlfriend (which I should have known wouldn’t have had the most charming things to say about me) told him that she saw me walking around talking to myself and that I was “weird”.

HELP! I hated being called weird. I hated the idea of being labeled as weird, abnormal, strange. No! I wanted to fit in. I wanted my image to be of someone cool – someone that doesn’t talk to herself! The thing is, now that I’m older I can see what she means, haha. I definitely do, talk to myself. My mind is runnnning with thoughts (whose isn’t!?) and I take them to see where they can go. I think about things differently, I think. I’m proud of it. Even if it makes me (ugh) *weird*.

But the thing is, as depicted by my ex’s ex…people talk about you! What are you going to do?

Another time in college – I was in line at the cafeteria and someone came up to me and started talking to me with enthusiasm. We talked for a bit, both of us friendly and animated. As he left my friend whom I was with asked me if I knew him and I said no. I later was called a b*tch.

Things will be said. Assumptions will be made. I was so frustrated with being misunderstood.

There is beauty in getting older. My mentor told me years ago – in your twenties you think about yourself and in your thirties and forties you think of others more. Me being in my twenties I remember thinking “I’m not self absorbed!” Yes I am. I can see exactly what she means. I’m only 26 but now I care much, much less about what others think or say about me vs me when I was 20 years old. And it totally is because I am gaining more of a sense of who I am. Sure, in college my identity was super shaky. But that was then. This is now.

People will say what they want to say. Sometimes they  might be right about me. Sometimes they’ll be dead wrong. But my goal now is not to be understood. I’m okay with being misunderstood. I know who I am now.

 

IMG_0564.JPG

Leave a Reply

